The Heart of the New Covenant

Posted: Tuesday, October 21, 2014 in Scripture

The New Covenant found in Jeremiah 31:31-34 and Ezekiel 36:22-36 is of great importance for those who are new creatures in Christ. The central thought in this covenant is that God acts in or on the hearts of those whom He chose before the foundation of the world to be His people for the glory of His own name. Note the verses that form the “heart” of the covenant:

Jer 31:33  For this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, declares the LORD: I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts. And I will be their God, and they shall be my people.

Eze 36:26 And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.
Eze 36:27 And I will put my Spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes and be careful to obey my rules.
Eze 36:28 You shall dwell in the land that I gave to your fathers, and you shall be my people, and I will be your God.

Notice the promises attached to the covenant: God promises a new heart of flesh and a new spirit (Ez 36:26). He promises to put His law in them and to write it on their hearts (Jer 31:33). He promises to put His Spirit within them and cause them to walk in His statutes and obey His rules (Ez 36:27). Follow the order: A heart of stone replaced by a heart of flesh (stone can be broken, flesh cannot). The law written on that heart of flesh (internal) as opposed to the Law written on tablets of stone (external). The Spirit put inside them, again denoting and inward work instead of the typical working from without as in the Old. And this Spirit will lead one to be holy and blameless, the purpose of their calling in Christ. So that, God said, “I will be their God, and they shall be My people” (Jer 31:33; Ez 36:27). “Once you were not a people, but now you are God’s people…” (1 Pet 2:10a). And we see that obedience is not optional in the life His people. He has given us all that we need in His law and in His Spirit to live for Him as the children of God. May we seek to live in the power of that Spirit, keeping our conduct pure in the face of darkness (1 Pet 2:12).

 

Leave a Reply

