Edwards’ Resolution #27

Posted: Monday, April 7, 2014 in Resolutions

download27. Resolved, Never willfully to omit any thing, except the omission be for the glory of God; and frequently to examine my omissions.

In other words – remove the worldly clutter. By this I mean (and I think this was Edwards’ intention as well) that we should examine if we “omit,” what we “omit,” and why we “omit” it. For example, I might feel convicted to give up a television program or a good sit down reading. The conviction could come because I need to spend more time with family or use the time in some other way to glorify God. If we aren’t careful here, our omissions could become merely moralism and/or legalism – hence the importance of “except the omission be for the glory of God.” And then, we need to frequently examine not only our omissions and their purpose, but also examine whether we are imposing these things on others and in the course of things imposing legalism on them.

I know in the course of my own life I try to make sure that on the essentials I stand firm but on non-essentials or preferences I do not make my own life the rule for everyone. I have found that when I fail in this regard it becomes easy to judge others unfairly or wrongly – and this is sin. So, our call is to faithfully omit those things that the writer of Hebrews (12:1) calls “every weight,” things that slow us down in our race, along with the sin that causes us to run the race in the wrong direction – all the while keeping in mind that what slows you down, your “weight,” may not be a “weight” or a burden to another.

Leave a Reply

