Resolution #12

Posted: Tuesday, December 31, 2013 in Resolutions

download12. Resolved, If I take delight in it as a gratification of pride, or vanity, or on any such account, immediately to throw it by.

 [23] Love the LORD, all you his saints!
                        The LORD preserves the faithful
                        but abundantly repays the one who acts in pride. (Psalm 31:23 ESV)

I have read that Edwards would toss entire sermon manuscripts after prayer before he preached them because he found too much of him and not enough of Christ. This resolution is a reminder to mortify sin. I must confess that I am overwhelmed when I consider that every second of every day I will be held accountable for thoughts and deeds. And then I think on Christ and His forgiveness for sin as I repent of my wasted time and my selfish deeds that glorify self (pride) rather than Him. I am burdened for others who I see are on a dangerous path-  but then I am sometimes not burdened enough about my own path.

Consider the following short quotes from a couple of well-know Puritans:

John Owen – “Be killing sin, or it will be killing you.” On the Mortification of Sin in Believers

Thomas Watson – “Till sin be bitter, Christ will not be sweet.” The Doctrine of Repentance

[1] So if there is any encouragement in Christ, any comfort from love, any participation in the Spirit, any affection and sympathy, [2] complete my joy by being of the same mind, having the same love, being in full accord and of one mind. [3] Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves. [4] Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others. (Philippians 2:1-4 ESV)

Are you willing to toss that which leads to pride? 

Leave a Reply

